Wat Phra That Doi Kong Mu is the oldest landmark in Mae Hong Son province.
Wat Phra That Doi Kong Mu is a respectable temple that has stood with Mae Hong Son people for a long time.
Standing on top of Doi Kong Mu hill and visible from most places in Mae Hong Son town is the Wat Phra That Doi Kong Mu, a Burmese style temple founded in 1860. The temple comprises of several structures including two Burmese-style chedis and two viharns. The atmosphere atop the hill is one of tranquility and serenity.
The view of the sea of fog that collects in the valley each morning is impressive; at other times you get wonderful views of the town and surrounding valleys. And very beautiful, this measure Many annual festivals such as Loi Krathong, New Year’s Day, especially in Buddhist monks to Daowadung.
The larger chedi was built in 1860 and contains the relics of an important monk, Phra Maha Mok Kallana Thera, one of the disciples of the Buddha. The relics were brought to Mae Hong Son by migrants from Burma who built the pagoda.
The smaller chedi was built in 1874 by Phraya Singhanat Racha, the first governor of Mae Hong Son. A statue of the governor is located at the foot of Doi Kong Mu.
Wiharn is located at the base of the crown of the hill. Leading to the crown of the hill is a steep road at the end of which is present the ubosot, a large slender standing image of Lord Buddha. Standing next to the ubosot are several cenotaphs and smaller pagodas. There’s also a cafe and a small tourist market.
Higher up the hill overlooking Mae Hong Son is a Buddha image in subduing Mara posture, seated on a high pedestal. The image is guarded by a pair of white and gold guardian Chinthe lions. On top of the hill is another small temple building topped with a Pyatthat roof. The stairs are guarded by mythological Naga serpents. In front of it is a large standing Buddha image wearing a golden robe.
The Phra That Doi Kong Mu Temple is located on a hill to the west of the town of Doi Kong Mu in Mae Hong Son. Highway no.108. From Phaya Singhanat Racha Monument, turn left and drive up the mountain for about 1.5 kilometer.